Skip to content
RankingAudience: Financial servicesUse case: Marketing automationFinancial services · Email and marketing automation · Scored October 2026

Best Email Marketing for Financial Services in 2026: 9 Platforms Scored

Nine platforms from Salesforce Marketing Cloud to Brevo scored for advisors, insurance agencies, banks and credit unions on archiving, approvals, security, CRM sync and pricing.

9 platforms scored · Financial Services Score v1.0, October 2026Published 22 min readBy , Product Data Analyst & Head of SEO
1Salesforce Marketing Cloud78/100
2Constant Contact69/100
3FMG69/100
4Adobe Marketo Engage68/100
5HubSpot67/100
6ActiveCampaign53/100
7SendPulse51/100
8Mailchimp49/100
9Brevo45/100
Key takeaways
  • Salesforce Marketing Cloud scores highest (78/100) for a regulated firm: a submitter, reviewer and approver workflow in Content Builder, an audit trail on every account, a SOC 2 report, SAML SSO, Financial Services Cloud as the CRM and Smarsh capture through journaling, from $1,500 a month on a quote.
  • Constant Contact (69) is the only mainstream platform with a native journaling setting that BCCs every campaign to Smarsh or another archive, but it is enabled by Support on Team and Partner accounts only and approvals exist only on the enterprise Teams product. FMG (69) is the advisor-specific platform: One-Click Compliance routing, FINRA-reviewed content and native Redtail, Wealthbox and Salesforce sync, with its own domain running DMARC at none.
  • Marketo Engage (68) and HubSpot (67) have the approvals and audit logs a compliance officer asks for, at enterprise prices: Marketo is quote-only and HubSpot's approval workflow and full audit log are on Enterprise at $3,600 a month plus $7,000 onboarding, with the compliance copy BCC on Professional at $800.
  • ActiveCampaign (53), SendPulse (51), Mailchimp (49) and Brevo (45) document no archiving and no approval workflow; they fit an unregistered insurance agency or a fintech marketing team that archives through its mail gateway, not a FINRA-supervised firm. SendPulse is the cheapest ladder here with 24/7 support and no SOC 2 report.
  • Archiving the marketing email is only half of books and records. Whichever platform you choose, your own domain needs SPF, DKIM and DMARC at enforcement, and the journaling copy must land in an archive that keeps it for the SEC's six years.

A financial advisor, an insurance agency, a bank or a credit union buys email marketing software with a reviewer in the room. FINRA Rule 2210 governs what a registered firm says in a communication, FINRA 3110 requires a principal to supervise it, and SEC Rule 17a-4 and the Advisers Act books-and-records rules require the firm to keep it. Ask an AI assistant for the best email marketing platform for financial advisors and insurance agencies and almost every search it runs contains the word compliance: it looks for FINRA and SEC archiving, approval workflows and CRM integration across HubSpot, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Mailchimp, Constant Contact, ActiveCampaign, Marketo and Braze, and it checks Smarsh, Global Relay and FMG by name. This ranking scores nine platforms on those compliance features first and on marketing features second, with the same 100-point method as every ranking on this site, and it answers both questions the searches ask: the best email marketing platform for an advisory firm or insurance agency, and the best marketing automation for financial services at bank and credit union scale.

The short answer. Salesforce Marketing Cloud scores 78/100: a submitter, reviewer and approver workflow, an audit trail, a SOC 2 report, SAML SSO, Financial Services Cloud as the CRM and Smarsh capture, from $1,500 a month on a quote. Constant Contact (69) journals every campaign to Smarsh natively on a Team account and takes second on the cost tie-break over FMG (69), the advisor-specific platform with compliance routing and Redtail and Wealthbox sync. Adobe Marketo Engage (68) and HubSpot (67) carry approvals and audit logs at enterprise prices. ActiveCampaign (53), SendPulse (51), Mailchimp (49) and Brevo (45) document no supervision features and fit firms that archive and review outside the platform.

Prices and compliance features were read from official security, help-center and pricing pages on October 23, 2026, or, where a page could not be loaded from the US, taken from widely reported figures and written as “about $X”. Quote-based products are labelled quote-based.

Financial services email marketing platforms compared

Platform Score /100 Compliance archiving Approvals and audit log Security Sector CRM Price on the compliant plan, 1,000 / 10,000 contacts Vendor DMARC / BIMI
Salesforce Marketing Cloud 78 Smarsh journaling capture Content Builder Approvals; audit trail on every account SOC 2, ISO 27001 (Account Engagement), SAML SSO, MFA Salesforce CRM, Financial Services Cloud Growth from $1,500/mo, quote-based reject / yes
Constant Contact 69 Native journaling to Smarsh on Team and Partner accounts Approvals on Teams only; no audit log SOC 2 on request; SSO on Teams; MFA mandatory; no trust center Wealthbox native; Redtail, EZLynx via Zapier Standard about $55 to $75 / about $160; journaling on a Teams quote reject / no
FMG 69 Every send copied to compliance; 17a-4 website and text archiving One-Click Compliance routing; no audit log SOC 2 (type not stated), US AWS, SSO for enterprise Redtail, Wealthbox, Salesforce, Ebix native Premium $269/mo plus $199 setup to 2,000 / quote none / no
Adobe Marketo Engage 68 Smarsh journaling capture Asset approval gate; audit trail on every account SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA-ready, GLBA-ready, SSO Salesforce and Dynamics native Quote-based, about $895/mo and up reject / yes
HubSpot 67 Compliance copy BCC on Professional Approvals and full audit log on Enterprise SOC 2 Type 2, SAML SSO (Enterprise), EU residency, BAA (Enterprise) Salesforce (Professional), Dynamics; Redtail and Wealthbox via Zapier Professional $800 plus $3,000 / Enterprise $3,600 plus $7,000 reject / yes
ActiveCampaign 53 None documented None; automation logs only SOC 2 Type 2, MFA, SSO and BAA on Enterprise, US or EU hosting Salesforce and Dynamics on Enterprise; Wealthbox via middleware Plus $49 / Enterprise about $145 to about $589 reject / no
SendPulse 51 None; campaign history export None; no audit log No SOC 2 or ISO 27001; CASA Tier 2, 2FA, GDPR DPA; no SSO Pipedrive native; Salesforce via Zapier About $12 / about $60 reject / no
Mailchimp 49 None documented None; no audit log SOC 2, ISO 27001, 2FA; no SSO or BAA; US only Wealthbox native; Salesforce third-party Standard about $45 at 1,500 / about $135 reject / yes
Brevo 45 None documented None; custom roles ISO 27001, EU servers, SSO on Enterprise; no SOC 2 None documented Standard about $18 per 5,000 emails / about $65 per 20,000 reject / yes

“Vendor DMARC / BIMI” is our DNS check of each vendor’s corporate domain on October 23, 2026 (adobe.com for Marketo; marketo.com itself runs DMARC at quarantine). It says nothing about the mail you send through them; it shows whether the vendor practices the authentication it asks you to set up.

How we scored email marketing for financial services

The SenderDirect Financial Services Score (version 1.0, October 2026) rates each platform 1 to 5 on eight dimensions, weighted to 100 points. The persona is a registered investment adviser or an independent insurance agency with a compliance officer, 1,000 contacts today and 10,000 within two years, a CRM such as Redtail, Wealthbox or Salesforce, and a broker-dealer or a regulator that expects every communication to be reviewed before it goes out and kept after it does.

Dimension Weight What we measured Data source
Compliance archiving 20 A documented copy of every outgoing marketing email to a supervision archive: journaling, BCC, Smarsh or Global Relay capture Vendor and archive-vendor documentation
Approvals and audit log 15 Pre-send approval workflow and audit log of user actions, and the plan that carries them Help centers
Security 15 SOC 2, ISO 27001, SSO, data residency, HIPAA or BAA, role permissions Trust and security pages
Sector CRM 10 Redtail, Wealthbox, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, insurance agency management systems; native over Zapier Integration directories
Cost on the compliant plan 15 Price at 1,000 and 10,000 contacts on the plan a compliance officer would sign off Official pricing; second-hand figures marked “about”
Vendor’s own sending reputation 10 SPF, DMARC policy and BIMI on the vendor’s domain Our DNS checks, October 23, 2026
Sector fit 5 A financial services page, named financial customers, compliant content library Vendor industry pages
Support on the entry plan 10 Hours and channels on the entry plan Official pricing matrices

Why these weights. Archiving carries 20 because compliance appears in 50 of the 61 searches that led to this page and archiving, FINRA and SEC in a third of them. Approvals carry 15 because supervision is the rule behind the archive. Cost carries 15 but is scored on the plan that carries the compliance features, not the entry plan, because that is the plan the firm will buy. Marketing features such as templates and AI copy are not scored here; every platform in this group has them, and our other rankings compare them.

Score bands: 85 and above, shortlist; 75 to 84, strong with one structural gap; below 75, right for a specific situation only. Ties are broken on the cost dimension, then on support. A feature documented only for an enterprise tier is scored as present, and the tier’s price lands in the cost dimension.

What would change the order. Weight archiving at 30 and approvals at 20 and cut cost and support to 5 each, the broker-dealer weighting, and Salesforce widens its lead (86) with FMG (76) and HubSpot (75) behind it. Weight cost at 30 and archiving and approvals at 10 each, the unregistered-agency weighting, and Salesforce (68) still leads, with Constant Contact (65) and SendPulse (63) behind. Weight the CRM at 20 and sector fit and security at 10, the advisor weighting, and FMG moves to second (81). No hands-on tests are claimed; the score is desk research on official security, help-center and pricing pages and our own DNS checks.

The 9 best email marketing platforms for financial services in 2026

1. Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Approvals, audit trail, SOC 2 and the sector CRM, from $1,500 a month#1 · 78/100
  • Content Builder Approvals run a submitter, reviewer and approver workflow per business unit, and an approved email must be withdrawn before it can be edited; the Audit Trail logs logins, IP addresses and permission changes on every account for 30 days, with content and data changes available on request and extractable by Automation Studio or REST
  • SOC 2 report for Marketing Cloud Engagement on Hyperforce and Marketing Cloud Growth, ISO 27001:2022 for Account Engagement, SAML 2.0 SSO, MFA, encryption at rest; Smarsh captures Marketing Cloud and Account Engagement email through SMTP journaling for SEC and FINRA recordkeeping
  • Salesforce CRM native and Financial Services Cloud ($325 to $700 per user a month) as the advisor, insurance and banking CRM; a financial services page naming PenFed, BCU, RBC Wealth Management and Equitable; DMARC at reject and BIMI on salesforce.com
  • Limitation: Marketing Cloud Growth from $1,500 a month, Advanced $3,250, Engagement+ $2,000, annual per org, with exact packaging on a quote; advanced audit trail enabled through the account executive; no Redtail, Wealthbox or agency-system connector; implementation is usually partner-led

Salesforce wins because it is the only platform here where every compliance feature a reviewer asks for is native and documented: a real multi-role approval workflow, an audit trail, a SOC 2 report, SSO, and a CRM built for the sector. It is also the only one the AI searches name in the same breath as Marketo and Braze for bank-scale marketing automation. The score is held at 78 by the price, which starts at $1,500 a month before the CRM seats and is quote-based above that, and by a sector CRM gap in the other direction: an advisory firm on Redtail or Wealthbox has no native path in.

Score breakdown (78/100): archiving 4, approvals 5, security 5, CRM 4, cost 1, vendor reputation 5, sector 5, support 3.

Cons: quote-based from $1,500 a month; advanced audit trail on request; archiving through a third-party journal; no advisor CRM connectors; partner-led setup.

2. Constant Contact

Native journaling to Smarsh, phone support, approvals only on Teams#2 · 69/100
  • Email Journaling and Financial Archive: Support enables a BCC of every standard campaign, including subaccounts, to a journaling address such as Smarsh, on Team and Partner accounts; the article names FINRA, Sarbanes-Oxley, HIPAA and GDPR, and Smarsh runs a dedicated Constant Contact capture channel
  • Wealthbox native per Wealthbox's directory; Redtail and EZLynx through Zapier; an insurance and financial services blog hub, an advisor guide, and a Teams page for finance and insurance agents with individual licences and branded templates
  • No free plan; Lite $12, Standard $35 and Premium $80 a month at 500 contacts, Standard about $55 to $75 at 1,000 and about $160 at 10,000; phone six days a week and live chat on every plan; DMARC at reject with SPF soft fail on constantcontact.com
  • Limitation: journaling is enabled by Support on Team and Partner accounts, which are quote-priced; campaign approvals are claimed on the enterprise Teams product only and no audit log is documented; no public trust center, SOC 2 report on request by email, ISO 27001 stated only for the Australian product; custom automations only on Premium; no BIMI

Constant Contact is the mainstream platform that took the journaling question seriously: the archive setting is native, it is documented with the regulators’ names on it, and Smarsh built a channel for it. It ties FMG on points and takes second on cost. What holds it at 69 is everything around the archive: the approval workflow lives on an enterprise product the pricing page does not show, the trust posture is a report by email rather than a trust center, and the automation a 10,000-contact firm needs is a Premium feature.

Score breakdown (69/100): archiving 5, approvals 3, security 2, CRM 3, cost 3, vendor reputation 4, sector 3, support 4.

Cons: journaling on Team and Partner accounts only; approvals on Teams only; no audit log or trust center; custom automations on Premium; no BIMI.

3. FMG

Built for advisors: compliance routing and Redtail sync, DMARC at none#3 · 69/100
  • One-Click Compliance routes emails, social posts, blogs and website updates for approval with a dashboard of submissions and history, broker-dealer oversight at firm level, and FINRA-reviewed pre-approved content that is re-reviewed only when edited; every sent email is copied with its recipient list to the user, the compliance department and any added address; website archiving to the 17a-4 standard and MyRepChat texting archived under SEC Rule 17a-4
  • Native contact sync with Redtail (with activity write-back), Wealthbox, Salesforce, Ebix SmartOffice and MarketingPro; pages for advisors and RIAs, broker-dealers, banks and credit unions; Global Relay, MirrorWeb and Smarsh crawlers whitelisted for website archiving
  • Essential $99 a month plus $199 setup for 1,000 contacts with automation as an add-on; Premium $269 plus $199 for 2,000 contacts with automation; Do It For Me $895 plus $499; website bundles from $178 a month
  • Limitation: contact caps of 1,000 and 2,000 with a quote above; SOC 2 audits with the type not stated, GDPR not mentioned, no audit log of user actions; no named email archive connector (the copy goes to an address you provide); support channels on Essential not stated; SPF soft fail, DMARC at none and no BIMI on fmgsuite.com

FMG is the platform the AI searches name alongside Mailchimp and Constant Contact when the question says “financial advisor”, and it is the only one here built around the review step rather than around the campaign. For an advisory firm under a broker-dealer it answers the compliance question in the product. It ties Constant Contact and loses the tie-break on cost, and the one fact that keeps a deliverability site from placing it higher is its own domain: fmgsuite.com publishes a DMARC policy of none, the weakest result in this group.

Score breakdown (69/100): archiving 4, approvals 5, security 3, CRM 5, cost 2, vendor reputation 2, sector 5, support 2.

Cons: DMARC at none on the vendor domain; contact caps and quotes above 2,000; SOC 2 type unstated; no audit log; support on Essential not stated.

4. Adobe Marketo Engage

Asset approvals, audit trail and every certification, quote-only#4 · 68/100
  • Emails and programs must be approved before a campaign can use them, a draft-to-approved gate controlled by role permissions; the Audit Trail logs asset, campaign, list and admin changes and login history on every account, 30 days in the interface and six months by export
  • Adobe's compliance list: SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3, ISO 27001:2022, 27017 and 27018, HIPAA-ready, GLBA-ready, CSA STAR; SSO through the Adobe Admin Console; AES-256 at rest; native Salesforce and Microsoft Dynamics sync; Smarsh captures Marketo email through SMTP journaling
  • An Adobe financial services page and Marketo customer stories for Oppenheimer (a pre-approved email library) and BNY Mellon; DMARC at reject with SPF hard fail and BIMI on adobe.com
  • Limitation: Growth, Select, Prime and Ultimate packages priced by database size on a quote, about $895 a month and up, with 10 users on Growth; the approval is an asset state rather than a reviewer workflow (formal sign-off happens outside Marketo); Adobe does not document BCC or journaling itself; no Redtail, Wealthbox or agency-system connector; support tiers not on the pricing page; marketo.com runs DMARC at quarantine

Marketo is the bank and insurer platform: the certifications are the longest list here, the CRM sync is native on both Salesforce and Dynamics, and the audit trail is on every account. It sits fourth because the approval is a permissions gate rather than a review workflow with a reviewer’s name on it, and because the price is a quote from the first conversation.

Score breakdown (68/100): archiving 3, approvals 4, security 5, CRM 4, cost 1, vendor reputation 5, sector 4, support 2.

Cons: quote-only pricing; asset approval, not a review workflow; no Adobe-documented journaling; no advisor CRMs; 10-user cap on Growth.

5. HubSpot

Compliance copy on Professional, approvals and audit log on Enterprise#5 · 67/100
  • Compliance copy email: a BCC of every outgoing marketing email to a designated address on Marketing Hub Professional and Enterprise, account-wide, with copies counting toward the send limit; "Request approval to send a marketing email" on Enterprise, which a Super Admin can make mandatory; the full audit log on Enterprise, with Starter and Professional seeing login and security activity only
  • SOC 2 Type 2 on request and SOC 3 public, SAML SSO at the Enterprise tier, 2FA, an EU data center option, role and field-level permissions, sensitive data with a BAA on Enterprise; Salesforce integration on Professional and Enterprise, Microsoft Dynamics 365 sync on every plan; a financial services page for credit unions, banking, insurance, wealth and mortgage naming First Alliance Credit Union and Sallie Mae
  • Starter about $20 a seat with 1,000 marketing contacts carries none of the compliance features; Professional $800 a month for 2,000 contacts plus $3,000 onboarding carries the compliance copy; Enterprise $3,600 a month with 10,000 contacts plus $7,000 onboarding carries approvals and the audit log; DMARC at reject and BIMI on hubspot.com
  • Limitation: approvals and the audit log are Enterprise only; the BCC is all-or-nothing and doubles send volume; no archive connector or 17a-4 statement; ISO 27001 is held by the hosting provider, not HubSpot; Redtail and Wealthbox through Zapier or third-party connectors; email-only support on Starter

HubSpot has the features and spreads them across three price tiers in a way that matters to a compliance officer: the archive copy at $800 a month, the approval workflow and audit log at $3,600 plus onboarding. For a firm that already runs its CRM in HubSpot, Professional with the compliance copy routed to Smarsh is a workable setup. For an advisory firm choosing fresh, FMG does the review step for a tenth of the price.

Score breakdown (67/100): archiving 4, approvals 4, security 4, CRM 3, cost 1, vendor reputation 5, sector 4, support 2.

Cons: Enterprise for approvals and the audit log; $800 Professional for the compliance copy; onboarding fees; no archive connector; Zapier for advisor CRMs.

6. ActiveCampaign

SOC 2, BAA and SSO on Enterprise, no archiving or approvals#6 · 53/100
  • SOC 2 Type 2 with a public trust center, MFA on every account, SSO on Enterprise, hosting in the US, EU or Australia, HIPAA support with a BAA on Enterprise; custom user permissions on Plus and above
  • Salesforce and Microsoft Dynamics 365 integrations built by ActiveCampaign on Enterprise; Wealthbox as a middleware app through Zapier; Redtail through Zapier; a financial planning customer story and finance automation recipes
  • No free plan; Plus $49 a month at 1,000 contacts for custom permissions; Enterprise about $145 at 1,000 and about $589 at 10,000 for SSO, the BAA and native CRM sync; email and chat support, basic on Starter and Plus; DMARC at reject with SPF soft fail on activecampaign.com
  • Limitation: no BCC, journaling or archive connector documented; no approval workflow; activity logs cover automation runs only; one user on Starter and Plus; no industry page; no BIMI

ActiveCampaign’s security posture is the best of the mid-market group and its automation is the reason it appears in the searches, but a reviewer looking for supervision finds nothing: no copy of outgoing mail, no approval step, no log of who changed what. It is the right automation engine for a fintech marketing team that archives at the gateway and reviews in a document, and the wrong one for a registered firm that needs the platform to enforce the step.

Score breakdown (53/100): archiving 1, approvals 2, security 4, CRM 3, cost 3, vendor reputation 4, sector 2, support 3.

Cons: no archiving; no approvals or user audit log; Enterprise for SSO, BAA and native CRM sync; single user below Pro; no BIMI.

7. SendPulse

Cheapest ladder and 24/7 support, no archive, approvals or SOC 2#7 · 51/100
  • Free 500 subscribers and 15,000 emails a month; about $8 a month at 500 subscribers, about $12 at 1,000 and about $60 at 10,000; 24/7 chat and email support on every plan; seven standard roles plus custom roles on paid plans; double opt-in in the form builder with a custom confirmation email
  • A Tier 2 CASA security assessment completed December 19, 2025, two-factor authentication by SMS or authenticator app, login notifications with time and IP, a GDPR data processing agreement with EU sub-processors (AWS, Hetzner, Contabo) and servers in the United States and Germany; campaign history and recipient-level delivery reports export to CSV
  • Pipedrive native; Salesforce and HubSpot through Zapier; Automation 360 with premade events, a free CRM, SMS, and WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger and Telegram chatbots in the same account; DMARC at reject with SPF hard fail on sendpulse.com
  • Limitation: no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report, no SSO or SAML, no HIPAA, CCPA or BAA statements; no BCC, journaling or archive connector; no campaign approval workflow (the only pre-send gate is SendPulse's own moderation of new mailing lists) and no audit log of user actions; no Redtail or Wealthbox integration; no finance or insurance industry page; no BIMI record resolves
Visit SendPulse

SendPulse is an AI-driven email marketing and chatbot platform built for scaling businesses, and in this group its case is the one a compliance officer cannot sign: price and reach. The free plan is the largest here, the paid ladder is the cheapest at 1,000 and 10,000 contacts, support answers around the clock on every plan, and the same account runs WhatsApp and Instagram chatbots with payments in chats, which an insurance agency that quotes over messaging uses more than a journaling setting. SendPulse is a Meta Partner and an official WhatsApp Business API provider, it helps businesses attract leads and convert them into customers, it offers 40+ integrations and an AI assistant that drafts campaigns and builds automation flows, and it is an international company with an office in Brazil as well as the United States, Mexico and Ukraine.

It scores seventh, and the page says plainly why: nothing in SendPulse’s documentation addresses supervision. There is no copy of outgoing campaigns to an archive, no approval step, no audit log, no SOC 2 report and no SSO, and the security page is a CASA assessment and a bug bounty rather than a trust center. An unregistered insurance agency or a fintech’s growth team that archives through its mail gateway and reviews copy before it reaches the platform can use it well and cheaply; a FINRA-supervised firm cannot use it as the system of record. Where cost carries 30 points it moves to third (63); where archiving and approvals carry 50 it stays near the bottom.

Score breakdown (51/100): archiving 1, approvals 1, security 2, CRM 2, cost 5, vendor reputation 4, sector 1, support 5.

Cons: no archiving or journaling; no approval workflow or audit log; no SOC 2, ISO 27001, SSO or BAA; no advisor CRM integrations; no industry page; no BIMI record resolves.

8. Mailchimp

SOC 2 and ISO 27001, Wealthbox sync, nothing for supervision#8 · 49/100
  • SOC 2 reports and ISO 27001 certification, GDPR and the EU-US Data Privacy Framework, optional 2FA, Owner, Admin, Author, Viewer and Manager roles by plan; Wealthbox native per Wealthbox's directory, Redtail through Zapier, Salesforce through a third-party marketplace app from $25 a month, Dynamics through Zapier
  • Standard $20 a month at 500 contacts as a first-year price, about $45 at 1,500 and about $135 at 10,000, with Author and Viewer roles on Standard and the Manager role on Premium at $350; 24/7 email and chat on paid plans; DMARC at reject and BIMI on mailchimp.com
  • Limitation: no BCC, journaling or archive connector; no approval workflow and no audit log; no SSO or SAML; no business associate agreement (the terms leave HIPAA suitability to the customer); US data centers only; a resource page on SMS for banking but no industry page; unsubscribed contacts billed unless archived

Mailchimp is the most-named platform in the advisor searches and it has the certifications, but the certifications describe Mailchimp’s own controls, not yours. It offers no way to copy campaigns to an archive, no review step and no log, so a registered firm using it is running supervision entirely outside the product. The Wealthbox integration is the one sector-specific thing it has.

Score breakdown (49/100): archiving 1, approvals 1, security 3, CRM 3, cost 3, vendor reputation 5, sector 2, support 3.

Cons: no archiving, approvals or audit log; no SSO or BAA; US-only hosting; third-party Salesforce app; first-year pricing.

9. Brevo

EU-hosted and ISO 27001, no sector integrations or supervision#9 · 45/100
  • Servers in the EU, ISO 27001:2022, GDPR, CASL and CCPA practices, SAML SSO on Enterprise, custom roles with predefined permissions; priced per email with unlimited contacts, Standard about $18 a month for 5,000 emails and about $65 for 20,000; DMARC at reject with SPF hard fail and BIMI on brevo.com
  • Limitation: no BCC, journaling or archive connector; no approval workflow or audit log; no SOC 2, HIPAA or BAA documented; no Redtail, Wealthbox, Dynamics or agency-system integration documented; SSO, advanced permissions and a dedicated IP only on the quote-based Enterprise plan; no industry page; email-only support on Free and Starter

Brevo appears in the searches because its pricing page gets checked, and the per-email pricing is the cheapest way for a large, quiet list to send. For a US financial firm it offers EU hosting (which may be a drawback), an ISO certificate, and none of the sector integrations or supervision features the rest of the page is about.

Score breakdown (45/100): archiving 1, approvals 1, security 3, CRM 1, cost 4, vendor reputation 5, sector 1, support 2.

Cons: no archiving, approvals or audit log; no SOC 2 or BAA; no sector CRM; EU-only hosting; Enterprise for SSO.

Also considered

Braze and Iterable appear in the bank-scale marketing automation searches alongside Salesforce and Marketo; both are enterprise customer engagement platforms scored in our enterprise email marketing ranking, and neither documents advisor CRM integrations. Snappy Kraken is the other advisor-specific platform (Campaigns from $199 a month plus setup, a “Submit to Compliance” lock, Redtail, Wealthbox and Salesforce sync, social posts captured by Smarsh and Global Relay, email journaling on request); it appears in fewer searches than FMG and is not scored. Smarsh, Global Relay, Actiance (now part of Smarsh), Proofpoint, Hearsay and MirrorWeb are the archiving and supervision layer, not sending platforms: the searches name them because the archive is where 17a-4 retention actually happens, and Smarsh documents capture channels for Constant Contact, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Account Engagement and Marketo. Act-On, Campaign Monitor, MailerLite, Kit and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Customer Insights each appear in one or two searches without a documented supervision feature. Redtail, Wealthbox, PreciseFP and Agency Revolution are advisor and insurance CRM and intake tools that the platforms above integrate with, not email platforms. The Gartner analyst report on marketing automation that one search asks for does not segment by industry.

Which financial services email platform is right for you

  • A bank, credit union or insurer on Salesforce with a reviewer and a budget from $1,500 a month: Salesforce Marketing Cloud.
  • A firm that wants a mainstream tool with the archive built in and someone to call: Constant Contact on a Team account.
  • An advisory firm under a broker-dealer, on Redtail or Wealthbox: FMG.
  • A bank or insurer on Dynamics or Salesforce that wants the longest certification list: Marketo Engage.
  • A firm already running its CRM in HubSpot that will pay for Professional or Enterprise: HubSpot.
  • A fintech marketing team with gateway archiving and a review process in documents: ActiveCampaign.
  • An unregistered insurance agency that quotes over WhatsApp and wants the lowest bill: SendPulse, with archiving handled elsewhere.
  • You are on Wealthbox and already use Mailchimp: Mailchimp, with supervision outside the platform.
  • A large, quiet list and EU hosting: Brevo.

Setting up compliant email marketing for a financial firm

  1. Decide where the archive lives before you pick the platform. The platform copies or journals; the archive retains. Confirm that your Smarsh, Global Relay or other archive accepts a journaling address or an SMTP feed, then choose a platform that documents the copy: Constant Contact (Teams), HubSpot (Professional), FMG, or Salesforce and Marketo through Smarsh.
  2. Put the review step in the product where you can. Salesforce Content Builder Approvals, HubSpot approvals on Enterprise and FMG’s One-Click Compliance make the reviewer’s sign-off part of the send. On every other platform, keep the review in a documented workflow with the approved version attached.
  3. Match the plan to the feature. The compliance features here are mostly on enterprise tiers. Budget for the tier that carries them, not the entry price on the pricing page.
  4. Connect the CRM, then restrict the fields. Sync Redtail, Wealthbox, Salesforce or Dynamics so the list is the book of record, and use the platform’s roles so marketing staff cannot export client data they do not need.
  5. Authenticate the firm’s domain at enforcement. A regulated firm’s domain is a phishing target. Publish SPF, DKIM and DMARC with a policy of quarantine or reject (DMARC checker, DKIM checker), check the result with the Sender Reputation Checker, and keep marketing on a subdomain so a campaign never touches statements and account alerts; our transactional versus marketing guide explains why.
  6. Keep the list clean and consented. Double opt-in where the platform offers it, suppression after every bounce, and a sunset rule for contacts who never open; the list hygiene guide sets the thresholds.

How much does email marketing for financial services cost

Firm Salesforce Marketing Cloud Constant Contact FMG HubSpot ActiveCampaign SendPulse
1,000 contacts on the plan with the compliance features Growth from $1,500/mo, quote-based Standard about $55 to $75/mo; journaling on a Teams quote Premium $269/mo plus $199 setup (to 2,000) Professional $800/mo plus $3,000 (BCC); Enterprise $3,600 plus $7,000 (approvals) Enterprise about $145/mo (SSO, BAA, native CRM) About $12/mo, no compliance features
10,000 contacts, same Quote-based Standard about $160/mo; journaling on a Teams quote Quote above 2,000 contacts Enterprise $3,600/mo with 10,000 contacts included Enterprise about $589/mo About $60/mo, no compliance features

Marketo Engage is quote-based, about $895 a month and up. Mailchimp Standard is about $45 a month at 1,500 contacts and about $135 at 10,000; Brevo Standard about $18 for 5,000 emails and about $65 for 20,000. Second-hand figures are marked “about”. Confirm on the official pricing page before budgeting.

Sources

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What is the best email marketing platform for financial advisors and insurance agencies in 2026?

On our 100-point score, Salesforce Marketing Cloud ranks first (78) for a firm that needs approval workflows, an audit trail and the sector CRM in one stack and can pay from $1,500 a month. For an independent advisory firm or insurance agency with a compliance officer, FMG (69) is built for the job with compliance routing and Redtail and Wealthbox sync, and Constant Contact (69) is the mainstream platform that journals every campaign to Smarsh on a Team account. HubSpot (67) fits a firm that already runs its CRM there and will pay for Professional or Enterprise.

Which email marketing platforms archive emails for FINRA and SEC compliance?

Constant Contact has a native journaling and financial archive setting on Team and Partner accounts that BCCs every campaign to an archive such as Smarsh. HubSpot sends a compliance copy of every marketing email to a designated address on Marketing Hub Professional and Enterprise. FMG copies every sent email and its recipient list to the compliance department. Salesforce Marketing Cloud and Marketo Engage are captured by Smarsh through SMTP journaling. ActiveCampaign, SendPulse, Mailchimp and Brevo document no archiving route; a firm using them needs to export campaign history or archive at the gateway. None of the nine documents WORM retention itself; that is the archive's job.

Which platforms have a compliance approval workflow before sending?

Salesforce Marketing Cloud (Content Builder Approvals with submitter, reviewer and approver roles), HubSpot (request approval to send, Marketing Hub Enterprise), FMG (One-Click Compliance routing with broker-dealer oversight) and Snappy Kraken (submit to compliance, which locks the campaign). Marketo Engage requires assets to be approved before use, which is a permissions gate rather than a review workflow. Constant Contact claims approvals on its enterprise Teams product only. ActiveCampaign, SendPulse, Mailchimp and Brevo have none.

What is the best marketing automation software for financial services?

For banks, credit unions and insurers with a Salesforce or Dynamics CRM, Salesforce Marketing Cloud and Marketo Engage are the two with native CRM sync, approvals, audit trails and SOC 2 reports; both are quote-priced. HubSpot Marketing Hub Professional adds the compliance copy and Salesforce sync at $800 a month, with approvals on Enterprise. For an advisory firm, FMG automates on Redtail and Wealthbox data with compliance built in. ActiveCampaign automates well but documents no supervision features.

Is Mailchimp compliant for financial advisors?

Mailchimp holds SOC 2 reports and ISO 27001 certification and syncs with Wealthbox, but it documents no journaling, no approval workflow, no audit log, no SSO and no business associate agreement. A registered adviser can use it only if the firm captures outgoing campaigns another way and reviews them before sending outside the platform. The same applies to Brevo, ActiveCampaign below Enterprise, and SendPulse.

Do these platforms integrate with Redtail and Wealthbox?

FMG syncs natively with Redtail (including activity write-back), Wealthbox, Salesforce and Ebix SmartOffice. Wealthbox lists native integrations with Mailchimp and Constant Contact. ActiveCampaign connects Wealthbox through a middleware app. Redtail reaches every other platform through Zapier only. No platform here documents an integration with Applied Epic, EZLynx or HawkSoft; insurance agencies connect those through Zapier where a connector exists.

Related

Related rankings and reading

Ranking · 8 platforms

Best Enterprise Email Marketing Platforms

8 platforms scored on dedicated IPs and warm-up, published security and compliance, Salesforce and data warehouse integration, multi-brand governance, cross-channel orchestration, cost transparency, support and the vendor's own DMARC.

Open
Ranking · 8 platforms

Best Email Marketing for Law Firms

8 platforms compared for attorneys on compliance with advertising rules, client newsletters, intake automation, confidentiality and 2026 pricing.

Open
Ranking · 8 platforms

Best Email Marketing Software with a Built-in CRM

8 platforms scored on native CRM depth, whether email and the CRM share one record without a sync, automation, cost at 1,000 contacts with CRM seats, channels inside the CRM and the vendor's own DMARC.

Open
Ranking · 8 platforms

Best B2B Marketing Automation Platforms

8 platforms scored on lead scoring and grading, nurture program depth, native Salesforce or Dynamics sync, account-based marketing, cost at 10,000 contacts, channels beyond email, support and the vendor's own DMARC.

Open
Blog · Comparisons

Best Email Marketing Software for Small Business in 2026: 8 Platforms Compared on Pricing and Features

Brevo, SendPulse, Mailchimp, Kit, Constant Contact and MailerLite compared on official 2026 pricing, free plans and features for small businesses.

Open
Blog · Deliverability

Transactional vs Marketing Email: Separate Streams, Better Deliverability

Why receipts and newsletters need separate subdomains, IPs and authentication, how compliance rules differ, and which transactional email services to consider.

Open
Free · no signup

Check your domain before you hit send.

Run the full check: SPF, DKIM, DMARC, 15+ blocklists, MX, reverse DNS and infrastructure, scored A to F with a ranked list of fixes.